Club Details

Athlone Town

Division 1  
Ground Name Athlone Town Stadium
Address Athlone
County Westmeath
Phone
Official Website www.athlonetownfc.ie
Unofficial Website www.athlonetownfc.ie

Fixtures 2017

Athlone Town scores given first.

Fixture Opposition Venue Result
Fri. 21st Feb.
(League)
Galway United Away
Fri. 28th Feb.
(League)
Cabinteely FC Home 1 – 3
Sat. 7th Mar.
(League)
Cobh Ramblers Away 2 – 3
Fri. 13th Mar.
(League)
Wexford FC Home
Sat. 21st Mar.
(League)
Longford Town Away
Fri. 27th Mar.
(League)
Drogheda United Home
Fri. 3rd Apr.
(League)
U.C.D. Away
Fri. 10th Apr.
(League)
Shamrock Rovers II Home
Fri. 17th Apr.
(League)
Bray Wanderers Away
Fri. 24th Apr.
(League)
Galway United Home
Fri. 1st May.
(League)
Cabinteely FC Away
Fri. 8th May.
(League)
Cobh Ramblers Home
Fri. 15th May.
(League)
Wexford FC Away
Fri. 22nd May.
(League)
Longford Town Home
Fri. 29th May.
(League)
Drogheda United Away
Fri. 5th Jun.
(League)
U.C.D. Home
Fri. 12th Jun.
(League)
Shamrock Rovers II Away
Fri. 26th Jun.
(League)
Bray Wanderers Home
Fri. 3rd Jul.
(League)
Galway United Away
Fri. 10th Jul.
(League)
Cabinteely FC Home
Sat. 18th Jul.
(League)
Cobh Ramblers Away
Fri. 24th Jul.
(League)
Wexford FC Home
Sat. 1st Aug.
(League)
Longford Town Away
Fri. 14th Aug.
(League)
Drogheda United Home
Fri. 28th Aug.
(League)
U.C.D. Away
Fri. 11th Sep.
(League)
Shamrock Rovers II Home
Sat. 19th Sep.
(League)
Bray Wanderers Away

 

One Response to Club Details

  • Anonymous says:

    Got 2 LOI (LoveOurIrishness)
    The sacking of Pat Fenlon has stirred up a debate within the League of Ireland. However, my question is why were the Shamrock Rovers club so upset to lose to a Finnish side. The Finnish league are four places above our own league. The RoPS club which were second in their league have nine foreign nationals in their side. The club that won the league have seven and the club that came third have eleven.
    It is clear that if League of Ireland clubs want to progress they have to invest in foreign players outside of bringing in some British players. No one wants to see whole teams of foreign players but five or six good foreign players a side would help the likes of Shamrock Rovers, Cork City and Dundalk to progress in Europe.
    A lot of those foreign players in the Finnish sides were African and we all remember what Joseph N’Do brought to the league. Irish soccer might not have big budgets for scouting systems but do have links to African football. Johnny McKinstry has managed Sierra Leone and now manages Rwanda. Sean Connor managed a Zimbabwean club side. Maybe the biggest club sides have already exhausted all possibilities regarding these options or maybe not. That is a question I would like to know.
    If they have what were the problems and if not, why not.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.