Club Details

Longford Town

Division 1  
Ground Name Bishopsgate
Address Strokestown Rd., Longford
County Longford
Phone (043) 41637
Official Website www.longfordtownfc.com
Unofficial Website

Fixtures 2017

Longford Town scores given first.

Fixture Opposition Venue Result
Sat. 22nd Feb.
(League)
Shamrock Rovers II Home 2 – 0
Fri. 28th Feb.
(League)
Drogheda United Away 1 – 0
Sat. 7th Mar.
(League)
Bray Wanderers Home
Fri. 13th Mar.
(League)
U.C.D. Away
Sat. 21st Mar.
(League)
Athlone Town Home
Fri. 27th Mar.
(League)
Galway United Away
Sat. 4th Apr.
(League)
Cabinteely FC Home
Sat. 11th Apr.
(League)
Cobh Ramblers Away
Sat. 18th Apr.
(League)
Wexford FC Home
Sat. 25th Apr.
(League)
Shamrock Rovers II Away
Sat. 2nd May.
(League)
Drogheda United Home
Fri. 8th May.
(League)
Bray Wanderers Away
Sat. 16th May.
(League)
U.C.D. Home
Fri. 22nd May.
(League)
Athlone Town Away
Sat. 30th May.
(League)
Galway United Home
Fri. 5th Jun.
(League)
Cabinteely FC Away
Fri. 12th Jun.
(League)
Cobh Ramblers Home
Fri. 26th Jun.
(League)
Wexford FC Away
Sat. 4th Jul.
(League)
Shamrock Rovers II Home
Fri. 10th Jul.
(League)
Drogheda United Away
Sat. 18th Jul.
(League)
Bray Wanderers Home
Fri. 24th Jul.
(League)
U.C.D. Away
Sat. 1st Aug.
(League)
Athlone Town Home
Fri. 14th Aug.
(League)
Galway United Away
Sat. 29th Aug.
(League)
Cabinteely FC Home
Sat. 12th Sep.
(League)
Cobh Ramblers Away
Sat. 19th Sep.
(League)
Wexford FC Home

 

One Response to Club Details

  • Anonymous says:

    Got 2 LOI (LoveOurIrishness)
    The sacking of Pat Fenlon has stirred up a debate within the League of Ireland. However, my question is why were the Shamrock Rovers club so upset to lose to a Finnish side. The Finnish league are four places above our own league. The RoPS club which were second in their league have nine foreign nationals in their side. The club that won the league have seven and the club that came third have eleven.
    It is clear that if League of Ireland clubs want to progress they have to invest in foreign players outside of bringing in some British players. No one wants to see whole teams of foreign players but five or six good foreign players a side would help the likes of Shamrock Rovers, Cork City and Dundalk to progress in Europe.
    A lot of those foreign players in the Finnish sides were African and we all remember what Joseph N’Do brought to the league. Irish soccer might not have big budgets for scouting systems but do have links to African football. Johnny McKinstry has managed Sierra Leone and now manages Rwanda. Sean Connor managed a Zimbabwean club side. Maybe the biggest club sides have already exhausted all possibilities regarding these options or maybe not. That is a question I would like to know.
    If they have what were the problems and if not, why not.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.